CR Magazine Announces 2014 Responsible CEO of Year Award Winners

CR Magazine Announces 2014 Responsible CEO of Year Award Winners

Chief Executives Recognized for Exceeding Corporate Responsibility Standards

Multimedia from this Release

Tuesday, September 23, 2014 - 11:30am

CAMPAIGN: CR Magazine’s Responsible CEO of the Year

CONTENT: Press Release

PHILADELPHIA, Sept. 23, 2014 /3BL Media/ -- Corporate Responsibility (CR) Magazine, which shines a spotlight on America's most socially responsible chief executives, has announced today the winners of the seventh annual Responsible CEO of the Year Awards. These awards are presented to CEOs across industries that visibly exceed standards in the areas of employee relations, environmental impact, human rights, philanthropy, and corporate responsibility practices.

"In a business landscape where transparency, authenticity and social impact must be embedded within one's corporate culture and supply chain, we are pleased to highlight this stellar group of CEOs and their organizations," said Elliot Clark, CEO of SharedXpertise, the publisher of Corporate Responsibility Magazine. "These leaders remain tirelessly committed to creating and maintaining a responsible culture and supply chain and this year's recognition is simply a reflection of that commitment."

The winners of the 2014 Responsible CEO of the Year awards are the following:

  • Douglas M. Baker, Jr., Chairman of the Board and CEO, Ecolab
  • John P. Bilbrey, President and CEO, The Hershey Company
  • Larry Merlo, President and CEO, CVS Health
  • Rakesh Sachdev, President and CEO, Sigma-Aldrich Corporation

All award winners were nominated by fellow members of the CR community and selected by an independent judging panel comprised of previous winners and other industry leaders, including:

  • Dan Hesse, (former) CEO, Sprint
  • Gale Klappa, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Wisconsin Energy
  • Jeffrey Joerres, Chairman and CEO, ManpowerGroup
  • Jim Murren, Chairman and CEO, MGM Resorts International
  • Patrick Prevost, President and CEO, Cabot Corporation
  • Paul Rooke, President and CEO, Lexmark International, Inc.

In determining the winners, judges considered several dimensions of the aforementioned standards including: the scope of the CEO's impact on their organization and community, the extent to which the CEO drove this initiative, and the individual reputation or professional risk taken by the CEO.

The 2014 award winners will be honored at CR Magazine's Responsible CEO of the Year Awards Dinner taking place at the COMMIT!Forum, Thursday, October 9th at the New York Marriott Downtown in New York City from 6:00-8:30pm.

For more information about the annual COMMIT!Forum and CR Magazine's Responsible CEO of the Year Awards Dinner visit:

About CR Magazine
CR Magazine is the voice of the corporate responsibility profession covering case studies, best practices, and trends in the five primary segments of the CR profession: a) governance, risk, compliance, b) environmental sustainability c) corporate social responsibility, d) philanthropy, and e) workforce/diversity.

About the COMMIT!Forum
Each year, COMMIT!Forum attracts: C-suite executives, Leaders in communications, CR and Sustainability professionals, Foundation heads, and Non-profit execs.  This year's theme is COMMIT! To A Responsible Culture & Supply Chain.  As an attendee you'll learn: how to run a more responsible business, how to build a more sustainable workforce and how to build a more responsible supply chain.  Our competitive advantage? Access.  Professionals who attend learn the latest best practices and how-to's from our hand-picked experts. And just as important, the COMMIT!Forum allows networking opportunities to engage with C-suite executives, CEOs, corporate communication pros, and CR professionals—industry leaders who can help our attendees achieve their professional goals.

The path to COMMIT!, which began on April 24th with the announcement of CR Magazine's 14th Annual 100 Best Corporate Citizens, culminates October 8-9 in New York City at the Forum.


Beatrice Broderick
Prosek Partners
212.279.3115 ext. 214

Heather Nielsen
COMMIT!Forum organized by SharedXpertise