NCLC Announces 2014 LEWIS HINE AWARDS for Service to Children and Youth

28th Annual Awards Honor Those Who Stand Up for America’s Kids
Feb 3, 2014 4:50 PM ET

New York, February 3, 2014 /3BL Media/ - The National Child Labor Committee (NCLC) today announced the recipients of the 28th annual LEWIS HINE AWARDS FOR SERVICE TO CHILDREN AND YOUTH.

The LEWIS HINE AWARDS are named for the acclaimed NCLC photographer, Lewis Wickes Hine. Hine’s photos documented early-20th century exploitation of children and were instrumental to the passage of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, a federal law that protected children from workplace exploitation. The LEWIS HINE AWARDS honor those individuals, as professionals or volunteers, for their unheralded and exceptional service to young people. The recipients, who this year hail from as far away as Washington state and as close as  New York, are selected by a distinguished panel of judges from among hundreds of nominations submitted each year by business, community, and nonprofit leaders.

The Awards will be presented at The Westin New York Grand Central in New York City, on Tuesday, February 18, 2014.

The NCLC also announced that a select group of public figures will be honored with special awards, including: Distinguished Service Awards to business leaders and individuals in the public eye who have had a positive impact on the welfare of children and youth; The David T. Kearns Award for Excellence and Innovation in Education; and The Nancy Daly Advocacy Award, which memorializes the late Los Angeles, California, activist and philanthropist Nancy Daly whose continuous efforts over many years provided support and opportunity for thousands of young people.   



Anne Marie Ambrose, Commissioner, Department of Human Services in the City of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,

Maryann E. Conway, Staff Manager, Transition Partnership Program, California Department of Rehabilitation, Anaheim, California,

Nora-Joanne Gerber, Educator, U.C. Davis Extension Center for Human Services, Davis, California,

Miriam Kellett Patton, Special Education Teacher, James F. Byrnes High School, Duncan, South Carolina,

Paula Adams Rogers, Education Manager, UALR Children International, University of Arkansas at Little Rock,  Little Rock, Arkansas,

Adela Trujillo, Director, Family Wellness,  Community Action Agency of Southern New Mexico (CAASNM), Las Cruces, New Mexico,

Scott Bradley, Co-Founder, My Brother’s Workshop, St. Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands,

Peggy Busick, Board Member, The Children's Center, Vancouver, Washington,

Allen C. Lomax, Chair, Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition of Alexandria (SAPCA), Alexandria, Virginia,

Delece Williams, Founder, Kidz Korna, Chicago, Illinois,


Rashid Ferrod Davis, Founding Principal, P-TECH, Pathway in Technology Early College High School, Brooklyn, New York,

Dr. David L. Parker, Research Scientist, Physician, and Documentary Photographer, Minneapolis, Minnesota,

Eileen Howard Boone, Senior Vice President, Corporate Social Responsibility and Philanthropy, CVS Caremark Corporation and President,  CVS Caremark Charitable Trust, Woonsocket, Rhode Island,


Stanley S. Litow, Vice President, Corporate Citizenship & Corporate Affairs and President, IBM International Foundation, Armonk, New York,


Jacqueline J. Caster, Founder and President,   Everychild Foundation, Pacific Palisades, California, provides grants to ease the suffering of children in the Los Angeles area,

Since 1987, thousands of deserving individuals have been nominated for LEWIS HINE AWARDS and more than 300 people have been selected as honorees. Previous recipients have gained national and local recognition and have earned increased support, allowing them to make an even greater difference in their communities. Each of this year’s LEWIS HINE AWARDS Honorees will receive a $1,000 award.

For more information about the National Child Labor Committee and the LEWIS HINE AWARDS, visit


Editor’s Note—Press Coverage Invited
The Awards will be presented at The Westin New York Grand Central (Grand Central Foyer, Grand Central CD), 212 East 42nd Street, New York, on Tuesday, February 18, 2014.

Photo Op/Media Interviews/Reception 5:30–6:45 p.m.; Awards Ceremony 6:45–8:00 p.m.


Press Contact:
Joyce Appelman                                             
NCLC Lewis Hine Awards