Four Sustainability Leaders Selected By Peers to Join International Society of Sustainability Professionals Sustainability Hall of Fame(TM)

Newest Members of Hall of Fame to Be Inducted This May At ISSP Conference 2013 in Chicago
Feb 1, 2013 3:00 PM ET


PORTLAND, OR, February 1, 2013 /3BL Media/ - The International Society of Sustainability Professionals has announced that four major figures in the sustainability profession will join the ISSP Sustainability Hall of FameTM, which was established in 2011 toformally recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of sustainability and to the professionals who serve it.

As part of the Hall of Fame nomination process, names were submitted by ISSP members and, after thorough review, this year’s class was selected by the ISSP Board of Directors. They are:

Alan AtKisson, President and CEO of AtKisson Group. Alan has helped hundreds of organizations and leaders worldwide develop sustainability strategies, design initiatives, manage complex programs, assess progress, and find better pathways to effective sustainability leadership. He led the creation of the ISIS Accelerator, a comprehensive sustainability toolkit used worldwide by businesses, governments, and educational organizations. He is also the author of several books, has worked in over forty countries, and has given hundreds of inspirational speeches and practical workshops on sustainability innovation and leadership.

John Elkington, Founding Partner & Executive Chairman of Volans, a future-focused business working at the intersection of the sustainability, entrepreneurship and innovation movements. John is also co-founder of SustainAbility, where he remains a non-executive member of the board and of Environmental Data Services. John is recognized as a world authority on corporate responsibility, sustainable development and innovation, and is renowned for introducing the phrase “triple bottom line” into the sustainability lexicon. John has written or co-authored 18 books; his latest, Tomorrow's Bottom Line: The B Team Playbook for Market Gamechangers, will be released in 2013.

Hazel Henderson, Founder of Ethical Markets Media, LLC and the creator and co-executive producer of its TV series. She is an interdisciplinary economist and political theorist and contributor to the creation of the ethical investment industry. Hazel is also a world renowned futurist, a worldwide syndicated columnist, consultant on sustainable development, and author of numerous books. Recently, she has served on the boards of such publications as Futures Research Quarterly, The State of the Future Report, and E/The Environmental Magazine.

L. Hunter Lovins, President and Founder of Natural Capitalism Solutions, which educates senior decision-makers in business, government and civil society to restore and enhance the natural and human capital while increasing prosperity and quality of life. She has co-authored several seminal works in the field, including the ground-breaking book Natural Capitalism: Creating the Next Industrial Revolution and most recently co-wrote The Way Out: Kickstarting Capitalism to Save Our Economic Ass. She has taught sustainable business management at Bard College, Bainbridge Graduate Institute in Seattle, Washington, and Denver University, and was a founding professor at Presidio Graduate School's MBA in Sustainable Management program.

The four new members will be formally inducted into the ISSP Sustainability Hall of Fame during a ceremony at ISSP Conference 2013, which will take place May 8 -10 in Chicago. They will join the five founding members of the ISSP Sustainability Hall of Fame who were installed during ISSP's inaugural conference in Portland, Oregon in September 2011. Those five founding members are:

  • Ray Anderson, founder and chairman of Interface, Inc., one of the corporate pioneers in sustainability and a former co-chair of the President’s Council for Sustainable Development. (posthumously)

  • Gil Friend, president and CEO of Natural Logic, Inc., a leading sustainability strategist and a leading contributor to systems thinking.

  • Amory B. Lovins, chairman and chief scientist of Rocky Mountain Institute.

  • Karl Henrik Robert, a Swedish cancer researcher and founder of The Natural Step framework for sustainable development.

  • Bob Willard, a leading expert on quantifying and selling the business case for sustainability.

The nomination process narrowed the field of candidates to a list of finalists based on criteria for service, research, innovation, advancement of the case for sustainability, participation in the adoption of sustainability in sectors or regions, and/or contribution to the definition of the profession. The ISSP Board then selected the inductees in a multi-voting process. At the conference, each new inductee will be honored by their peers for their accomplishments in the areas of experience, education, innovation, reach, publication and service to the industry.

About ISSP

(ISSP) is the world's leading professional association for sustainability professionals. ISSP is a member-driven association committed to moving the profession of sustainability forward through building strong networks and communities of practice. Formed in 2007, ISSP boasts more than 700 members from every continent in the world. Members share resources and best practices, and develop themselves professionally. Webinars, webchats, on-line courses, special reports, resource directories, salary surveys, and a professional competency study are just a sampling of the rich content offered to members. For more information about ISSP, its offerings and ISSP Conference 2013, please visit