ISO 9001:2015 & ISO 14004:2015 Update: Final Versions Issued

ISO 9001:2015 & ISO 14004:2015 Update: Final Versions Issued

tweet me:
SGS offers tools, videos & webinars for understanding new ISO standards via @SGS_SA

Multimedia from this Release

Thursday, September 24, 2015 - 4:30pm

CONTENT: Article

SGS, the world’s leading inspection, verification, testing and certification company, is recognized as the global benchmark for quality and integrity. With more than 80,000 employees, SGS operates a network of over 1,650 offices and laboratories around the world.

The final publications of ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 standards have now been issued. This completes the revision process of both standards and marks the start of the three-year transition period during which certified organizations should switch to the new versions.

Both standards have not been subject to major change since more than a decade. The new ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 are better aligned with the business environment and the contexts in which organizations operate. The adoption of Risk Based Thinking, enhancement of leadership involvement in management systems and the use of common structure are some of the main modifications.


ISO 9001:2015 positions the new version of the standard as an integral part of an organization’s efforts towards the broader aim of sustainable development and promotes it as a tool for improving an organization’s overall performance. It encourages more internal and external stakeholder focus as part of the adoption of a risk-based approach to quality management and emphasizes the importance of adopting a Quality Management System (QMS) as a strategic decision for an organization. In addition to renaming and repositioning some QMS activities, other significant new requirements have been introduced.


NEW TO ISO 14001

Environmental Management System (EMS) requirements are now presented in a more consistent manner. Terminology and definitions have been updated, some to conform with other management systems standards, such as ISO 9001. These changes were implemented as a consequence of the adoption of the high level structure specified in ISO Annex SL, which is now the required framework for all new and revised management system standards.



Organizations already certified to ISO 9001:2008 and ISO 14001:2004 have three years from the publication of the new versions in which to transfer. The transition period ends September 2018.



To help understand the changes and guide organizations in the transition process, SGS has developed a set of tools:

Further information on ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015 will be issued by SGS in the future.