Lilly: And the Indianapolis Prize Goes to…

Lilly: And the Indianapolis Prize Goes to…

Wednesday, October 15, 2014 - 8:45am

CAMPAIGN: Lilly Operating Responsibly


Every two years, the Indianapolis Prize is awarded to an individual who has made extraordinary contributions to conservation efforts involving a single animal species or multiple species. This year, Dr. Patricia C. Wright was honored with the world’s leading award for animal conservation at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis.

As a distinguished professor of anthropology at Stony Brook University, Dr. Wright has dedicated her career to conserving Madagascar’s lemurs — considered to be the world’s most threatened mammal group. She is the first female winner of the Indianapolis Prize since its inception in 2006. As this year’s winner, she also receives $250,000 and the Lilly Medal.

Read on for more about the Eli Lilly and Company Foundation's commitment to the Indianapolis Prize.