New AA1000AS Working Group Announced

New AA1000AS Working Group Announced

tweet me:
Newly constituted #AA1000AS Assurance Standard Working Group announced
Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 9:30am

CONTENT: Press Release

LONDON, UK, October 28, 2015 /3BL Media/ - The AA1000AS Nominations Committee and AA1000 Standards Board are pleased to announce the members of the newly constituted AA1000AS Working Group.  This collective body of global experts from industry, governmental, and non-governmental organisations from around the world is charged with all aspects of development and promulgation of the next release of the AA1000 Assurance Standard.

For over a decade and a half, the AA1000 Series of Standards have been recognised as a benchmark and a leading standard of applied frameworks for corporate social responsibility, sustainability and accountability.  The new principles-based AA1000AS will integrate prevailing market trends, including qualitative non-financial yet critical benchmarks, and will further continue its emphasis on assurance beyond purely data verification, as part of its evaluation and assurance methodology.  The result will be a strategic knowledge-based framework and reference to guide, inform and accompany reporting entities in their sustainability reporting, and to provide assurance for reporting entities and to support the work of assurance providers. 

Commenting on the composition of the Working Group, the Nominations Committee Chair, Mr. Dongsoo Kim stated, “The Working Group members were selected from a large number of professionals who stepped forward, who have the global representation, diversity, and knowledge to shape the next generation of the AA1000AS to reflect current and emerging trends. We look forward to their active participation to create the next generation of the AccountAbility Assurance Standard that embodies transparency, materiality, value, and engagement.”

AccountAbility, the Steward of the AA1000 Series is proud and honoured to have the following distinguished individuals as members of The AA1000AS Working Group:

Ms. Anupam Nidhi - Head of CSR, Reliance Group, India

Dr. Colin Morgan - Global Product Manager - Social Responsibility, SGS, UK

Mr. Glenn Frommer - Managing Partner, ESG Matters Ltd, Senior Advisor, GRI Focal Point, China

Dr. Kheng Min Loi - Deputy President - Transparency International, Malaysia

Ms. Monika Kumar - Environmental Specialist - Corporate Responsibility Program, World Bank, US

Mr. Murray Sayce - Technical Director, Bureau Veritas, UK

Dr. Nils Kok – Chief Executive Officer, GRESB, Netherlands

Ms. Sarah Bostwick – Manager- Reporting, UN Global Compact; Co-Coordinator, UN Sustainable Stock Exchanges, US

Mr. Terence Jeyaretnam - Founding Executive Director- NetBalance; Partner, EY- Climate Change and Sustainability Services, Australia

Dr. Vladimir Skobarev - General Director, NP Consult, Russia

Mr. Waleed Saeed Al Awadhi - Director, Operations and Corporate Affairs, Dubai Financial Services Authority, UAE       

Mr. Wim Bartels - Global Head of Sustainability Reporting & Assurance, KPMG, Netherlands

The Working Group will operate under the mandate of its’ Terms of Reference and commence duties in October 2015.