Analyzing the Residential Energy Efficiency Sections of the 2015 IECC

Analyzing the Residential Energy Efficiency Sections of the 2015 IECC

The IECC - 2009, 2012 and 2015: A Cross-Code Comparison.
tweet me:
Analyzing Residential #EnergyEfficiency Sections of the 2015 #IECC @gbcoalition

Multimedia from this Release

Mike Collignon, Green Builder Coalition

Green Builder Coalition

Green Builder Media

Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 9:00am

CAMPAIGN: Code Watch


THE INTERNATIONAL CODE COUNCIL (ICC) continues to develop the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) on a three-year cycle which has culminated in the latest version, the 2015 IECC. However, not every state is inclined to follow the same cycle when it comes to adoption of the IECC. Reasons for non-adoption vary, from perceived cost implications to lack of enforcement resources to complexity of changes. We will take on this last item, complexity of changes, in a multipart study. This first part, presented here, includes a general analysis of Sections R401 through R402 of the 2009, 2012, and 2015 IECC.

The International Code Council (ICC) was founded in 1994 as a nonprofit member-focused association with the express purpose of developing a single set of national model construction codes. Founding members came from the Building Officials and Code Administrators International, Inc. (BOCA), the International Conference of Building Officials (IBCO), and the Southern Building Code Congress International, Inc. (SBCCI). The efforts of the three organizations culminated in the International Codes, or I-Codes starting in 2000 with a three-year cycle for revisions and updates.

This is a very general overview of the differences between the IECC 2009, 2012 and 2015 Residential Energy Efficiency Sections R401 through R402. Section R401 focuses on the scope of the regulations (residential buildings), compliance paths and requirements of the displayed certificate. Section R402 focuses on fenestration and insulation requirements.